CSP: Move Over Law Expansion in Effect
Description: Motorists Reminded of the Expanded Move Over Law and Urged to Slow Down When Approaching Traffic Incidents or Disabled Vehicles...
Motorists Reminded of the Expanded Move Over Law and Urged to Slow Down When Approaching Traffic Incidents or Disabled Vehicles
Governor Declares Crash Responder Safety Week as Part of Effort to Protect Roadside Workers
(COLO) – As part of National Crash Responder Safety Week, November 13 – 17, Col. Matthew C. Packard, chief of the Colorado State Patrol, is reminding motorists to Move Over for stopped emergency and roadside work vehicles.
“All 50 States and DC have Move Over laws requiring drivers to slow down and, if possible, move over when they are near a stationary response vehicle, but far too many drivers are either unaware of the law or simply don’t adhere to it,” stated Col. Matthew C. Packard. “So far this year, we’ve had 14 Colorado State Patrol vehicles struck while stopped on the roadside. We need your support so these emergency responders, tow drivers, and transportation workers can return home to their loved ones after their shifts.”
The Colorado State Patrol had a recent struck by incident resulting in two patrol vehicles being struck. On November 11, two Colorado State Patrol Troopers were investigating a crash on Interstate 25, with vehicle emergency lights activated. A vehicle struck the rear of the rear patrol vehicle. The force of the collision then pushed the patrol vehicle into the rear of the next patrol vehicle. The Trooper in the rear patrol vehicle suffered moderate injuries, while the Trooper in the front patrol vehicle suffered minor injuries. (CSP Trooper Injured When Drunk Drivers Crash into Two CSP Cruisers)
To support the effort, Governor Jared Polis has declared November 13 – 17 as Crash Responder Safety Week in Colorado, issuing a proclamation in support of a national effort to raise awareness of the critical role motorists play in keeping first responders and roadside workers safe as they perform their duties on our highways.
Earlier this year, Colorado joined 19 other states that provide protections to all disabled vehicles. Gov. Polis signed into law HB23-1123, requiring drivers to move over a lane whenever they encounter any stationary vehicle on a highway with its hazards flashing — and if they can't move over, they must slow down to at least 20 mph below the posted speed limit.
The penalty for failing to move over or slow down for a disabled vehicle includes a Class 2 misdemeanor traffic offense, with a possible fine of $150 and a 3-point license violation.
“Our Troopers keep watch over more than 23,000 lane miles of roadways across Colorado, and they are often the first to arrive at crash scenes to assist motorists and help restore traffic flow as safely and quickly as possible,” said Col. Packard. “We need every motorist to do their part to protect these men and women and give them a safe space to do their jobs by slowing down, moving over and staying alert when approaching traffic incidents.”
Crash Responder Safety Week is designed to help educate the public on the importance of driving safely when approaching a crash or other roadside incident.
Follow SECO News on Facebook.
Subscribe to the SECO News YouTube Channel.